A railway was built to the north end of the present bridge in 1880. Passengers alighting at the station there could make their way along a footway to a new low-water pier, where there were connections to pleasure steamers.
In 1886 an Act of Parliament authorised the London & South Western Railway (L&SWR) to start building a railway line connecting Putney Bridge Station with Wimbledon.
Designed by W H Thomas and William Jacomb , the wrought-iron bridge is an eight-span girder structure. It was never given a name but soon became known as the ‘Iron Bridge’ by the locals.
The first trains to cross the Thames on the Wimbledon and Putney branch ran on 3 June 1889.
A footway on the downstream side, with an ornamental cast-iron parapet, was opened the following month.
The bridge now forms part of the District Line service from Wimbledon via Earl’s Court to Edgeware Road and Upminster.