Standing at the northern edge of the City, Liverpool Street Station is one of the capital’s busiest commuter stations.
Opened in 1874, it was built for the Great Eastern Railway (GER) to serve east London, Essex and East Anglia. There was also a connection to the Metropolitan Railway, the world’s first underground railway. The building was designed by E. Wilson, chief engineer of the GER, who also designed Gothic-style offices and entrance.
The Great Eastern Hotel, built in 1884, and extended in 1901, was designed by Charles Barry, whose father worked with Pugin on the Houses of Parliament.
Liverpool Street remained virtually unchanged until the mid-1980s when it was transformed by a major redevelopment programme. The facilities of the station were modernised and the eastern train shed was demolished for a new office block. The platforms to the east of the station are now located beneath that office building. The redevelopment allowed the modernisation of the station and greatly improved the station environment, yet retained the grand 19th century architecture.