Church Row is one of Hampstead’s most beautiful streets.
The twin lines of elegant terraced houses form one of the most complete Georgian streets in London, and much of the original detail has survived, including the discretely decorated red-brick façades, glittering bay windows and splendid wrought-iron frontings.
At the bottom of the road is St John’s at Hampstead, the parish church with its tall tower, built in 1745. The iron gates are earlier and were brought here from Canons Park in Edgware. The interior of the church has a balustraded gallery and beside the lectern is a bust of the poet John Keats, who lived in Hampstead for a few years before his early death in 1821. The painter John Constable and his wife lie at rest in the peaceful churchyard and the graves of other notable residents of Hampstead can be found in the adjoining graveyard.